NAAFE's Board of Directors establishes the policies and guides the future of the organization. Board members are elected every two years in groups of 2 and 3. Terms begin and end at the conclusion of the Forum held immediately after their election.

Current members of the Board of Directors are:

President: Dr. Frank Asche
Department of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences
College of Agricultural and Life Sciences
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL
Term: 2021-2023 (President-Elect); 2023-2025 (President)

President-Elect: Dr. Sunny Jardine
Associate Professor
School of Marine and Environmental Affairs
College of Agricultural and Life Sciences
University of Washington
Seattle, WA
Term: 2021-2025

Board Member: Dr. Jingting Chang
Senior Economist, Regulatory and International Economics
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
Term: 2023-2027

Board Member: Dr. Lisa Pfeiffer
Research Economist
NOAA Fisheries Northwest Fisheries Science Center
Seattle, WA
Term: 2023-2027

Board Member: Dr. Germán Ponce-Díaz
Full Professor
Centro Interdisciplinario de Ciencias Marinas, IPN (CICIMAR)
Km 6 antigua Carretera a Progreso
La Paz, BCS
Term: 2021-2025